EN

酒庄

滚动

历史

1977 年,贝克项目开始

在著名葡萄种植专家赫尔穆特•贝克的领导下,贝克葡萄园(现名)种植了 30 多个葡萄品种,以证明传统的欧洲葡萄在不列颠哥伦比亚省也同样能够存活。这些葡萄不仅活了下来,而且茁壮成长。

1993 年,引入波尔多品种

贝克葡萄园是南欧垦娜根地区最早展示出晚熟波尔多红葡萄种植潜力的葡萄园之一,也由此站在了最前沿,引领即将席卷该地区的葡萄种植酿造理念演变风潮。

1996 年,幻影溪葡萄园

欧垦娜根的先锋葡萄种植专家理查德•克里夫在幻影溪葡萄园种植了赤霞珠和西拉。如今,这个和酒庄同名的葡萄园被视为全国最好的葡萄园之一,并且接二连三产出“加拿大最好的红葡萄酒”。

2004 年,科宝葡萄园

1929年,科宝葡萄园最初是作为苹果园进行种植的,当时南欧垦娜根才刚刚引入灌溉系统。这个著名的葡萄园坐落在金色品酒地带,2004 年种植赤霞珠、维欧尼和西拉。

2016 年,白先生建立幻影溪酒庄

出于对波尔多风格葡萄酒的热爱,白先生收购了贝克和幻影溪葡萄园,由此开始了自己在著名的欧垦娜根山谷创立酒庄的逐梦之旅。

如今的幻影溪酒庄

幻影溪酒庄设立了加拿大葡萄种植和酿酒的标杆,目前正处于向有机和生物动力学种植作业的转换过程。我们立足过去,展望未来。

酿酒

葡萄种植

我们的酿酒着实是从葡萄园开始的。我们种植酒庄自有葡萄,力图让成酒表现出各葡萄园的特色。然后我们则静观其成。

采收

从对各区进行取样,到对每串葡萄手工采收,我们的目标是确保葡萄到酒厂时具有最佳的成熟度。我们比多数酒庄采摘要早,这是至关重要的一步,有助于在装瓶后保持新鲜度和达到最佳平衡。

酒厂

我们的红葡萄酒先经过手工分选,然后再进行光学分选;每颗葡萄都必须达到我们的标准,才进行压榨并进入小型橡木桶发酵。我们的白葡萄酒则是整串在定制的椭圆橡木桶中进行天然发酵。对于每一款酒,我们都希望达到最佳的质地、层次感以及与橡木的融合度。

我们的团队

罗斯•怀斯

酿酒师兼总经理

罗斯原籍新西兰,在四个国家积累了逾 15 年的葡萄酒行业经验,在 2016 年我们第一个年份加入了幻影溪。他在葡萄种植和酿酒方面知识渊博,对于酿出世界级葡萄酒充满热情,对于工作努力不懈,使他成为了幻影溪酿酒工作的完美领头人。

约翰•皮尔斯

黑鼠尾草丘地葡萄园经理

约翰出生于葡萄牙,从小打理自家种植的葡萄,并按照葡萄牙传统酿造葡萄酒。作为我们的第一名员工,他已经打理幻影溪和贝克葡萄园逾 16 载,领导葡萄园工作,遵循我们的生物动力学和有机葡萄园作业方法,为酿造出色葡萄酒打下基础。

瑞恩•麦克基本

金色品酒地带葡萄园经理

瑞恩的职业生涯从酒窖开始,他深知出色的葡萄酒始于葡萄园。如今,他管理着科宝葡萄园,带来了自己在加拿大、新西兰和南非一些世界领先的有机和生物动力学认证葡萄园和酒厂积累的丰富的可持续耕种经验。

白先生

主席

白先生年轻时发现了葡萄酒的无穷魅力,在中国的整个职业生涯里都保有这份对葡萄酒的兴趣。他出生在农村,一直贴近土地,而幻影溪酒庄则把他对美酒的热情、对农业的欣赏以及追求卓越的精神融为一体,成为一个令人兴奋的新事业。

姚霏

执行总监

姚霏在中国出生长大,毕业于不列颠哥伦比亚大学,后在房地产行业事业有成。2014 年,她转入葡萄酒行业,和白先生紧密合作,开始实现他打造加拿大领先酒庄之一的梦想。从第一天开始,她一直参与项目的方方面面。

安妮•瓦特

顾问酿酒师

安妮毕业于加州大学戴维斯分校的葡萄酒酿造和葡萄种植专业,后在Paradigm酒庄Heidi Barrett的指导下工作。现在,Anne为加州、华盛顿州和不列颠哥伦比亚省的酒庄提供咨询服务。作为幻影溪的创始团队成员,安妮对品质的承诺仍然为酒庄设立着标准。

卡梅伦•瓦特

葡萄园顾问

作为 Dana 酒庄的首位酿酒师,卡梅伦在把这家膜拜酒庄打造成评论家的宠儿的过程中,发挥了不可或缺的作用,曾经三次获得 100 分。他还得以与知名酿酒顾问 Philipe Melka 合作,2013 年后者被评为最具影响力的美国酿酒师。

葡萄酒大师奥利维耶•鸿布列什

顾问酿酒师

奥利维耶是法国第一位葡萄酒大师,也是辛特-鸿布列什酒庄的所有者和酿酒师。这家著名酒庄自 1620 年起归他的家族所有,如今是世界领先的灰皮诺和雷司令葡萄酒生产商之一。鸿布列什将在我们的白葡萄酒酿造计划中起到不可或缺的重要作用,另外还将指导我们向有机和生物动力学作业转化。

EN

Estate

Scroll

History

1977, Becker Project Begins

Led by renowned viticulturist Helmut Becker, over 30 different grape varieties were specifically planted at (what’s now) Becker Vineyard as a demonstration that traditional European vines could survive in British Columbia. And not only did they survive—they thrived.

1993, Bordeaux Varieties Introduced

Becker Vineyard was one of the first in the South Okanagan to showcase the potential for late ripening Bordeaux reds, putting it at the forefront of the shift that would soon take place in the region’s winegrowing philosophies.

1996, Phantom Creek Vineyard

Phantom Creek Vineyard was planted by leading Okanagan viticulturist Richard Cleave to Cabernet family varieties and Syrah. Today, our namesake vineyard is recognized as one of the best in the country, and has produced the “Best Red Wine in Canada” on three separate occasions.

2004, Kobau Vineyard

Kobau Vineyard was originally planted as an apple orchard in 1929, shortly after irrigation was introduced to the South Okanagan, Located on the Golden Mile Bench, the acclaimed vineyard was planted to Cabernet family varieties, Viognier, and Syrah in 2004.

2016, Bai Family Founds Phantom Creek Estates

Driven by a love of Bordeaux-style wine, Richter Bai purchases Becker and Phantom Creek Vineyards, where his dream of starting a winery in the famed Okanagan Valley begins.

Today, Phantom Creek Estates

With the aim of setting the benchmark in Canadian viticulture and winemaking, Phantom Creek's estate vineyards are now in transition to organic and biodynamic farming practices. We’ve got a foot firmly rooted in the past with our vision to the future.

Winemaking

Viticulture

Our winemaking truly begins in the vineyard. We farm our estate grapes with the aim of expressing the character of each vineyard in the final wine. And then we get out of the way.

Harvest

From sampling each individual block to meticulously hand-harvesting each cluster, our goal is to ensure fruit is brought into the winery at optimal ripeness. We pick earlier than most, a crucial step to retaining freshness and achieving balance once bottled.

Winery

Our red wines are first hand sorted, then optically sorted; each berry must meet our standards before it’s pressed and fermented in small oak barriques. Our whites are whole cluster, wild fermented in custom Stockinger oak casks. Our goal with every one of our wines is to achieve optimal texture, layers of complexity, and integration with oak.

Our Team

Ross Wise

Winemaker

A New Zealand native, Ross joined Phantom Creek for our inaugural 2016 vintage after earning over 15 years of wine industry experience across four continents. His vast viticultural and winemaking knowledge, passion for creating world-class wines, and unrelenting work ethic make him the perfect leader for Phantom Creek’s winemaking operations.

John Pires

Vineyard Manager, Black Sage Bench

Born in Portugal, John grew up tending his family’s vines and making wine in the Portuguese tradition. As our very first employee, he has tended the vines at Phantom Creek and Becker Vineyards for over 16 years, leading the charge to produce exceptional wine from the ground up and championing our biodynamic and organic vineyard practices.

Ryan McKibbon

Vineyard Manager, Golden Mile Bench

Having started his wine career in the cellar, Ryan knows that that exceptional wine begins in the vineyard. Today he oversees Kobau Vineyard, bringing with him extensive experience in sustainable farming practices from working in some of the world's leading certified organic and biodynamic vineyards and wineries in Canada, New Zealand, and South Africa.

Richter Bai

Chairman

Having discovered wine’s complex appeal in his youth, Richter Bai retained an interest in wine throughout his career in China. Born within an agricultural community, he has always been close to the land, and Phantom Creek Estates marries his passion for great wine, appreciation of agriculture, and pursuit of excellence in a thrilling new venture.

Faye Yao

Executive Director

Born and raised in China, Faye graduated from the University of British Columbia before developing a successful career in real estate. In 2014, she transitioned to the wine industry and worked closely with Richter Bai to begin to realize his dream of building one of the leading wineries in Canada. Since day one, she has been involved with every facet of the project.

Olivier Humbrecht MW

Consulting Winemaker

Olivier, France’s first Master of Wine, is the owner and winemaker of Domaine Zind-Humbrecht. The renowned estate has been in his family since 1620, and today is one of the world’s leading Pinot Gris and Riesling producers. Humbrecht will have an integral role in our white winemaking program and will also guide our transition to organic and biodynamic practices.

Anne Vawter

Consulting Winemaker

After graduating from UC Davis’ prestigious Enology and Viticulture program, Anne worked under the guidance of Heidi Barrett at Paradigm Winery. Today, Anne consults for wineries throughout California, Washington, and British Columbia. As a founding team member of Phantom Creek, Anne’s commitment to quality continues to set the standard at the winery.

Cameron Vawter

Vineyard Consultant

As the founding winemaker at Dana Estates, Cameron played an integral role in building the cult Napa winery into a critical darling, earning three 100-point scores. He was also privileged to work alongside famed winemaking consultant Philippe Melka, who was ranked the most influential American winemaker in 2013.